Fast paced Fleet Fluctuations

Apologies for the radio silence of late – it has been an unintended consequence of the myriad machinations that have occurred in the past few weeks.

So where do we stand currently?

205

At the last count, the 205 had the fuel/air leak problem resolved by bypassing the original fuel filter housing. All was well after the renewal of the engine side fuel pipes and installation of a BMW 320d inline fuel filter. She has performed well since, despite starting to show the signs of needing the track rod ends replaced.

However, the enjoyment was short lived, as I lost my hear to another! The pugglet has moved on to a new owner, a repeat customer who had previously relieved me of the Polo 1.9D I had.

20160907_201001 20160907_190940

I hope he enjoys the Gallic frugality in all its glory – it was a good wee car!

320

It was all going so well until it didn’t go at all. The recurrence of an age old fuelling issue has prompted me to park her up at the moment until I have sufficient time to chase the fault properly. We are of the thinking that it cannot be the fuel pump, as the car has had 4 fitted in the last 2 years – 3 2nd hand ones plus the current new one. So it looks like I’ll need to chase down a potentially intermittent fault in the wiring/fusebox or relay – Initial discussions with Paul the tame sparky have taken place, now I just need the gumption.

Vectra

This thing saunters on like the proverbial “bogey” car in an erstwhile Top Gear Special – never failing, never flinching and always vigilant for when you may need to travel. Its getting to the point where I almost have a sneaking respect for it..I said Almost!

It continues to do sterling service as the Burd’s daily and general parts/people/tat hauler of peerless reliability and fuel economy. Annoyingly competent, so it is.

To date, all it has asked for is some brakes, an oil service and 2x part worn tyres for the front – it is essentially free motoring and definitely one of my better purchases – it should turn 100K miles this month.

Toledo

“The whatnawhatnow?” you cry! Yes, I’ve bought a Toledo. Not for me though the suave seventies charms of the smaller Triumph, no. As previously alluded to, the poor pugglet had to make way for a new fleet member – something very special indeed.

20160825_131229

Back when the writer of this blog had a full head of hair, and a distinct lack of worry, the conveyance of choice was a 1991 Seat Toledo 1.8 GL. Resplendent in Moon Ray Silver, and resting on 175/70/13 wheels, this chariot was my ticket to a new, independent life. Many happy years were spent together learning the limits of adhesion and carrying capacity (super huge hatchback boot FTW!) before the need for the sparkly stick to the sills parted us.

More than a few years have passed since life was so simple, but a popular internet auctioning site threw up the opportunity to relive those care free days! for a measly sum, I became the proud owner of a 1993 Toledo 1.6 CL. This low mileage (46K!) car is  the same colour as my original version, but fitted with the 1.6 75bhp 4cyl rather than the almighty* 90bhp 1.8.

20160825_131141

That aside, it is essentially like being 18 again – everything is familiar and comforting, the car performs well, but the brakes could do with some attention.

20160825_131201

I’ll stick a dedicated blog up in time, but for the moment know this- I am a happy boy!

CRV

My mother needed a petrol automatic car with leather seats as a runabout – with the leather and auto being essential.

I had 1 day at the start of this week to supply a solution. Over coffee it was decided that something different to the e60 520i saloon already present was required. About 11am I tilted my limited knowledge and nous at the various vehicle advertising sites armed only with a vague budget and some misplaced self belief.

After a brief dalliance with an Audi S4 Avant (all 4.2L 339bhp/302lbft torque of it) which was pronounced as “nippy” and comfortable but had no service history present, our attention turned to more mundane matters.

Key to the Maw’s vehicular requirements was having easy access and egress from the vehicle – large doors and leather seats were the ticket here. Where better to find such items than in a 4×4 vehicle? Some left field thinking led us to the possibility that a Honda CRV would provide the desired benefits without the drawbacks of “big” 4×4 running costs.

20160905_123753

As if by magic, a 2002 version as located close by with low mileage, a long MOT and the holy trinity of Auto, Petrol and Leather. We charged up mob handed to view it, and an honest looking brief it was. 4 new tyres were present, the interior was in good condition, and the service history/test drive testified to the mileage.

img-20160905-wa0003 img-20160905-wa0005

Over a cup of coffee we discussed the car and decided to buy it – some gentle discussion pertaining to price later and the purchase was completed. having just spoken to my mum, she tells me she’s been out driving it at midnight “just because she can”. I’m taking that as a win!

img-20160905-wa0007 img-20160905-wa0009 img-20160905-wa0012 img-20160905-wa0016

Hopefully I’ll be back shortly with an update on the new stuff, and maybe even a resolution of some issues on the older fleet members..

Leave a comment